

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

"The Martian" "Mad Max: Fury Road" and "The Revenant"

Motion Picture Winners at the 20th Annual Art Directors Guild

Excellence in Production Design Awards

Celebrating "From Silver Screen to Every Screen"

"Game of Thrones," "House of Cards," "American Horror Story", "The Big Bang Theory" and "The Muppets" Win for Television Series

Josh Brolin Presents David O. Russell with Cinematic Imagery Award

Broadcast Quality Coverage and Photos Available By 3AM at epklink.com/ADGAwards2016
Additional Photos Available at http://bit.ly/20hykrW

BEVERLY HILLS, Jan. 31, 2016 -- The Art Directors Guild (ADG, IATSE Local 800) tonight announced winners of its 20th Annual Excellence in Production Design Awards, in 11 categories of film, television, commercials and music videos during a black-tie ceremony at The Beverly Hilton. "The Martian" (Arthur Max), "Mad Max: Fury Road" (Colin Gibson) and "The Revenant" (Jack Fisk) won Best Production Design for Feature Film. Television winners included "Game of Thrones" (Deborah Riley), "House of Cards" (Steve Arnold), "American Horror Story: Hotel" (Mark Worthington), "The Big Bang Theory" (John Shaffner) and "The Muppets" (Denise Pizzini) respectively. The awards took place before an audience of more than 900, including guild members, industry executives and press. ADG President Nelson Coates and Art Directors Council Chair Marcia Hinds presided over the awards ceremony with comedian Owen Benjamin serving as host for the third year-in-a-row.

Director **David O. Russell** received the Guild's prestigious Cinematic Imagery Award presented by **Josh Brolin** (*Sicario*). Oscar®-winning actress **Eva Marie Saint** (*On the Waterfront*) presented Turner Classic Movies (TCM) host **Robert Osborne** with ADG's inaugural William Cameron Menzies Award, for his work in championing classic motion pictures. Accepting the award on Mr. Osborne's behalf was actress **Diane Baker**. Recipients of this year's Lifetime Achievement Awards included Scenic Artist **Bill Anderson**, Oscarnominated Matte Artist **Harrison Ellenshaw**, Set Designer **William J. Newmon**, **II** and Emmy® and Oscarwinning Production Designer **Patrizia von Brandenstein**. Four legendary women - Oscar and Emmywinning Production Designer **Carmen Dillon**, Emmy-winning Production Designer and Illustrator **Dorothea Holt Redmond**, Oscar-nominated and Emmy-winning Production and Costume Designer **Patricia Norris**, and Art Director and Set Designer **Dianne Wager** – were inducted into the Art Directors Guild (ADG) Hall of Fame.

Presenters for this year's awards included **Bryan Cranston** (*Trumbo*), **Jennifer Jason Leigh** (*The Hateful Eight*), **LL Cool J, Amy Landecker** and **Kelsey Reinhardt** (*Transparent*), **O'Shea Jackson Jr.** (*Straight Outta Compton*), **Anthony Anderson** (*Black-ish*), **Aubrey Plaza** (*Dirty Grandpa*), **Will Forte** (*The Last Man On Earth*), **Kunal Nayyar** (*The Big Bang Theory*), **Jaime Pressly** (*Mom*), **Niecy Nash** (*Getting On, Scream Queens*) and **Thomas Middleditch** (*Silicon Valley*).

In celebration of its 20th anniversary, the Art Directors Guild inaugurated a new official trophy called the *Cinemagundi*, designed by guild member Fredrik Buch, which was handed out to tonight's winners. ADG

awards recognition always goes to the Production Designer, Art Director, Assistant Art Director and their team for each nominated and winning project.

20th ANNUAL ADG WINNERS FOR EXCELLENCE IN PRODUCTION DESIGN FOR A FEATURE FILM:

1. PERIOD FILM

THE REVENANT

Production Designer: JACK FISK

2. FANTASY FILM

MAD MAX: FURY ROAD

Production Designer: COLIN GIBSON

3. CONTEMPORARY FILM

THE MARTIAN

Production Designer: ARTHUR MAX

20th ANNUAL ADG WINNERS FOR EXCELLENCE IN PRODUCTION DESIGN IN TELEVISION:

4. ONE-HOUR PERIOD OR FANTASY SINGLE-CAMERA SERIES

GAME OF THRONES: "High Sparrow," "Unbowed, Unbent, Unbroken," "Hardhome"

Production Designer: **DEBORAH RILEY**

5. ONE-HOUR CONTEMPORARY SINGLE-CAMERA SERIES

HOUSE OF CARDS: "Chapter 29," "Chapter 36" Production Designer: STEVE ARNOLD

6. TELEVISION MOVIE OR LIMITED SERIES

AMERICAN HORROR STORY: HOTEL: "Checking In" Production Designer: MARK WORTHINGTON

7. HALF HOUR SINGLE-CAMERA SERIES

THE MUPPETS: "The Ex-Factor," "Pig's in a Blanket"

Production Designer: **DENISE PIZZINI**

8. MULTI-CAMERA SERIES

THE BIG BANG THEORY: "The Skywalker Incursion," "The Mystery Date Observation," "The Platonic Permutation"

Production Designer: JOHN SHAFFNER

9. AWARDS OR EVENT SPECIAL

THE OSCARS: 2015

Production Designer: **DEREK McLANE**

10. SHORT FORMAT: WEB SERIES, MUSIC VIDEO OR COMMERCIAL

APPLE MUSIC: "The History of Sound"
Production Designer: JESS GONCHOR

11. VARIETY, REALITY OR COMPETITION SERIES

KEY & PEELE: "Ya'll Ready For This?" "The End" Production Designer: GARY KORDAN

The sponsors for the 20th Annual ADG Excellence in Production Design are: PRESENTING SPONSOR - DXV by American Standard; TITLE SPONSOR - 20th Century Fox; PLATINUM SPONSORS - ICM Partners and Universal Pictures; GOLD SPONSORS - Bleecker Street, History for Hire, NBC Universal Operations, and Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures; SILVER SPONSORS are AMC American Movie Classics; Astek Wallcovering; Big Sky Movie Ranch; Bridgeman Images; Fox Studios Production Services; FX Productions; Illustrators & Matte Artists Council; JC Backings; Mirisch Agency; Scenic, Title, & Graphic Artists Council; Set Designers & Model Makers Council; Shutterstock; Turner Classic Movies; United Talent Agency; Warner Bros Studio Facilities and WME Agency; MEDIA SPONSORS include *The Hollywood Reporter, Variety, Below the Line* and *SHOOTonline*.

Producer of this year's ADG Awards (#ADGawards) is Production Designer Tom Wilkins, co-produced by Art Director Judy Cosgrove. ADG Awards are open only to productions, when made within the U.S., by producers signatory to the IATSE agreement. Foreign entries are acceptable without restrictions. For information about the 20th Anniversary of the ADG Awards, please contact Debbie Patton, Manager of Awards & Events at Debbie@artdirectors.org or visit www.adg.org.

###

ABOUT THE ART DIRECTORS GUILD:

The Art Directors Guild (IATSE Local 800) represents 2,300 members who work throughout the United States, Canada and the rest of the world in film, television and theater as Production Designers, Art Directors, Assistant Art Directors; Scenic, Title and Graphic Artists; Illustrators and Matte Artists; Set Designers and Model Makers; and Previs Artists. Established in 1937, the ADG's ongoing activities include a Film Society, an annual Awards Banquet, a creative/technology community (5D: The Future of Immersive Design), a bimonthly craft magazine (Perspective); and extensive technology-training programs, figure drawing and other creative workshops and year-round Gallery 800 art exhibitions. The Guild's Online Directory/Website Resource is at www.adg.org. Connect with the Art Directors Guild and #ADGawards on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

PRESS CONTACTS:

Cheri Warner · Nicole Player · Weissman/Markovitz Communications 818.760.8995 · cheri@publicity4all.com · nicole@publicity4all.com